Skip to content

DEAD TREES FOR MY SHELF

December 18, 2010

When yer’ po’ you choose your expenses wisely… unless yer me.  When Christmas comes knockin’ ‘roud I usually buy myself a gift.

Today while shopping for a last minute gift, I decided to mozy on in Indigo-Chapters, which for me is like sending a junky to a crackhouse. Books are the dragon I chase and for the past year I had given up my quest for the dragon because my PS3 distracted me with gamer-ruining games like Uncharted 2 (beaten 4 times so far), God of War III (2 rounds) and Heavy Rain (2 insane experiences). Since these games have ruined me for other games by their un-topable superiority, I find myself bored with every game I play these days, enough that today I opted not to buy Grand Turismo 5 & Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit. Both works of art and guaranteed fun.

Instead I went into my usual book buying frenzy which happens every time I go in there. Even today with my member’s rebate and a rebate card I had I couldn’t get under the 100 dollar mark (but it was close at 102$). I decided I needed to catch up on some books and reclaim my book-worm title.  So I got me the following titles.

The Language Instinct: How The Mind Creates Language

by Steven Pinker

HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS | August 23, 2007 | Trade Paperback

I’ve been obsessed for years with a single thought. When did our ancestors first get around to agreeing, as they pointed to a tree, that it was a tree and language was born? Language and Mind are my major focuses of nerdity. I fail to see how I couldn’t love this book.

The Blank Slate : The Modern Denial of Human Nature

by Steven Pinker

Penguin Usa | August 26, 2003 | Trade Paperback

More Pinker-goodness. I’ve seen him in various docs and interviews and he completly bowled me over. I admire high-level intellectuals who are able to make it all sound simple, such as Dawkins. This one was recommended to me by the lovely Chapters-Indigo book-worm who seems to have read everything in the science section. She told me this was his masterpiece. So who am I to dispute a cute book-worm? She also agreed that the New-Age section had no business being next to the Mathematics section. Not to mention that Pinker was housed in the Well-Being section (aka self-help books) which is a travesty.

 

Emotions Revealed: Recognizing Faces and Feelings to Improve Communication and Emotional Life

By Paul Ekman

Henry Holt and Company | March 20, 2007 | Trade Paperback

Paul Ekman, he’s the dude that inspired the Dr. Cal Lightman character on the underrated Lie to Me television series. Again a book in the realm of the mind and behaviour. It’s the only title they had so not knowing what to expect I grabbed it.

Medium Raw: A Bloody Valentine to the World of Food and the People who Cook.

by Anthony Bourdain

HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS | June 8, 2010 | Hardcover

I’m a foodie, he’s the foodie GOD, and so this is the word of GOD. Need I say more? No I haven’t read Kitchen Confidential yet but it’s on the list.

The Moral Landscape: How Science Can Determine Human Values

by Sam Harris

Simon & Schuster | October 5, 2010 | Hardcover

I’ve read Letters to a Christian Nation and ate it up like cupcakes. I doubt this won’t be a good read as well.

Merry Christmas to me.

From → Dead Trees

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

